Leadership and Service Awards

Barton/Nelson Leadership/Service Award

Nomination Form for the Barton/Nelson Leadership/Service Award

Several years ago CoHEsion (then SETA) began presenting two annual awards (sponsored by Ellucian) for outstanding leadership and service to further the goals of the user base. These two awards honored Gunnell Nelson and Mark Barton, who have had a long and successful tenure in the leadership of the CoHEsion organization (and its predecessors). The first awards were given at the SETA SISU 2000 conference in Orlando.

Beginning in 2013, the award was combined into a single award honoring CoHEsion members who have shown great leadership and service to our community. We are pleased to accept nominations for the Barton/Nelson Leadership/Service Award.

Any member of CoHEsion can make a nomination for these awards. Only one nomination is needed to place a candidate's name in nomination.

Qualifications for Nominees:

Any current CoHEsion member who has regularly attended CoHEsion/SETA/Summit/Ellucian Live conferences. Anyone who has received an award shall not be eligible for that award for a period of three (3) years. Current CoHEsion board members are not eligible.


This award is designed to recognize notable service, leadership and vision in CoHEsion by a member. It is for a person who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and vision in an area or activity of CoHEsion, shown a continuing commitment to service in the organization, or who has made a notable or important contribution to CoHEsion. This person has shown continuing excellence and commitment to the organization with the goals of the organization always before personal aspirations.

To nominate someone for the Barton/Nelson Leadership/Service Award, please fill out our on-line form.

Past Recipients:

Barton/Nelson Leadership/Service Award

  • 2016 Joe Belnap - Utah Valley University
  • 2016 Brian Enderson - Texas Tech University
  • 2015 Larry Holder - University of Tennessee Martin
  • 2015 Ali Penton - University of West Florida
  • 2014 Marianne Gillfillan - Concordia University System
  • 2014 Lynn Sosebee - Midwestern State University
  • 2013 Paige Bussell - Texas A&M University - Commerce
  • 2013 Kay Hume - Tennessee Tech University

D. Mark Barton Award for Leadership

  • 2012 Ron Town - University of Idaho
  • 2011 Karen Nunn - Georgia Board of Regents
  • 2010 Melinda Colby - Stephen F. Austin State University
  • 2009 Raymond Ruff - Presbyterian College
  • 2008 Scott Hummel - North Carolina A & T State University
  • 2007 Bobbie Brown (Latham) - Texas Tech University
  • 2006 Bob Schneider - Western Washington University
  • 2005 Eric Rosenberg - Stevens Institute of Technology
  • 2004 Jeff Williams - Appalachian State University
  • 2003 Marvin Hawkins - Salt Lake Community College
  • 2002 Colette Williams - University of Memphis
  • 2001 Julie Lorton-Rowland - Ivy Tech Community College
  • 2000 Michelle del Giudice - Pepperdine University

Gunnell Nelson Award for Service

  • 2012 Carole Wardroup - Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
  • 2011 Jennifer Stillman - Southern Illinois University
  • 2010 Kathleen O'Donnell - Pacific Lutheran University
  • 2009 Jim Kittelsrud - Snow College
  • 2008 Stacy Cornelius (Hammond) - Indiana State University
  • 2007 April Sims - Southern Utah University
  • 2006 Kim Christie - Mercer University
  • 2005 Penny Ginn - Presbyterian College
  • 2004 Rick Cashion - Tennessee Technological University
  • 2003 Terry Bell - Dixie State College
  • 2002 Mark Snyder - Rowan University
  • 2001 Judy Ewart - College of William and Mary
  • 2000 Maxine Stolk - Southern Utah University